DIY Clip On Hair Extensions

Hello everyone!

I’m going to show you how I made my own clip on hair extensions.

I have thin hair and I was looking into buying clip on hair extensions to increase volume and length in my hair.  I thought the pre-made extensions were kinda pricey, so I thought I could make my own for a fraction of the cost.  I think everything cost me a total of $50, compared to the $100 plus for pre-made extensions.

The supplies you will need are  (All are found at your local beauty supply store):

  • Human Hair extensions
  • Hair Bonding Glue
  • Wig Clips/Extension Clips
  • Thick Hair Weave Thread
  • Thick Curved Needle (meant for hair weaves)

Step 1:
Measure the width that you would like the extension to be.  Cut double that length from your hair extensions.  I like to double my extensions because I find that the hair is too thin by itself.

Step 2:
Apply the hair bonding glue along the top edge of the extension.  Don’t apply too much!  Fold the hair extension in half and hold together until it dries.  This will make the extension fuller in volume, therefore you don’t need to clip on as many extension layers.

Step 3:
Thread your needle with the thread.  Take your clips and sew them into the top edge of the extension (where you previously glued).  Attach enough clips to hold the extension up in your hair.  Once I snip off the extra thread, I also like to place a little bit of the bonding glue on the knot just to make sure it does not come undone.

You are now done!  It’s super simple and easy to do on your own.

An optional step you can do is to layer the hair extensions.  Since my hair has a lot of layers, I also like to layer my extensions and taper them to more of a point at the ends.  I just did that with a pair of hair cutting scissors.

Comment below and remember to like our Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/GlamorousGamerGirls

One thought on “DIY Clip On Hair Extensions

Leave a Reply

