N’awlins Jazz Bar and Restaurant

Hi there GGG jazz lovers,

Listening to: Stormy Weather – Etta James

Last Friday my boyfriend and I redeemed my best friend, Nikki’s birthday voucher for a surprise night out to N’awlins in downtown Toronto. She has a love of jazz and my boyfriend and I thought that it would be really interesting to bring her to see a live jazz band. Here was our experience!

PhotoGrid_1358205713308

The restaurant was covered wall to wall with photos and paintings of great jazz bands and singers. The atmosphere was romantic and full with candlelit tables.

PhotoGrid_1358205614727

Each martini was named after jazz singers and bands 🙂 How creative!

PhotoGrid_1358205837066

We started with cajun crab cakes and omg, if you’re going to this location be sure to grab a few of these! 9.5/10

I had the Seafood Dream:  linguine with tiger shrimp, calamari, scallops, mussels and baby clams in a white wine tomato basil sauce . 8/10

My boyfriend had the Bourbon St. Penne: bacon, chicken, and cremini mushrooms in a vodka rose sauce. 9/10

Nikki had the penne mushroom pasta: a cremini, oyster, Portobello mushroom pasta with shallots, basil and garlic. 10/10

PhotoGrid_1358205894551

For dessert I had the cheesecake. It was a fine cheesecake. I think it may have been the best cheesecake that I have ever tasted. There was no gritty texture in the cheese. 10/10

My boyfriend had a red velvet carrot cake. It was a very tasty cake with a fine texture covered with a cream cheese frosting. 10/10

Nikki had a chocolate truffle cake. It was a little too rich but it was still delicious. 8/10

20130111_210620

Brooke Blackburn Trio were the live entertainment. They played in the middle of the restaurant and they were impeccable! They had a blues type jazz sound. I was impressed with the fact that were able to play most requests. We had requested from them to play Stormy Weather for my boyfriend and I and they played two special songs for Nikki. Happy Birthday and Georgia by Ray Charles.

This is a video of Brooke Blackburn Trio playing Georgia. If you listen carefully, you can hear the slight change in the song.

Overall rating: 9/10

I love how the place gave off a romantic vibe and I was so happy that the food, the atmosphere, the music was all outstanding. My only complaint would be how much of a tight squeeze it is in the restaurant but you could easily turn that around by saying it’s cozy lol.

il_570xN.369397899_apg1

My boyfriend and I also gave this to Nikki on the same night for Christmas. She loved it!

20130111_204134

Happy belated birthday Nikster! Love you ❤

When he went away the blues walked in and met me – Etta James, Stormy Weather

Don’t forget to “like” us on facebook at http://www.facebook.com/GlamorousGamerGirls and leave comments below for questions and feedback. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “N’awlins Jazz Bar and Restaurant

Leave a Reply

